How much? That’s a lot of water

Bicycle water bottle

Image via Wikipedia

You may have heard that our bodies need between 1.5-2.5 litres of fluid a day (or more) in order to function properly, depending on body size, activity levels or climate . This observation has had many of us reaching for 6-8 glasses of water a day (that’s alot!) and may be partly responsible for the rise in the popularity of the store-bought water bottle.

Recently I was walking along the Thames river in London and I was disturbed to see hundreds of discarded water bottles washed up along the shoreline. As soon as I returned home that day I dug out my re-usable water bottle and started to fill it daily from the kitchen tap, with a top-up from the water fountain at work.

Since I only wanted to carry one water bottle with me daily I started to think about the other fluids that I had through the day and realised that I was getting more than enough fluid for my body to work properly.

My typical fluid intake

Coffee in a mug – 2 each morning

Milk – with my cereal every morning

Water bottle (500ml) – refilled at lunchtime

Soup in a mug – at lunchtime

Yoghurt and fruit – at lunchtime (foods with a high water content)

Tea in a mug – one at lunchtime, one after work

A glass of wine with dinner or a hot drink after dinner (sometimes both)

If you want to be sure that you are getting enough fluid through the day, check the colour of your urine (it should be a pale straw colour). Look for a hydration chart online for more information.

So, it’s not just water that you should be drinking…all fluids count!

Leave a Reply

